Dennese Lilley-Edgerton, President

Mickey Miranda-Copple, Vice President

Richard Castillo, Secretary

MINUTES

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 3:00-3:30 p.m., CL 130

- I. Call to Order: The President called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m.
- II. Pledge of Allegiance: Assembly did not recite the Pledge of Allegiance because a flag was not present.
- III. Approval of Minutes
 - A. Main Motion: Approval of minutes from the Senate meeting on Tuesday, April 27, 2010.
 - B. First: Robert Robertson
 - C. Second: Philip Clinton
 - D. Discussion/Amendments: None
 - E. Approval: Unanimous
- IV. Adoption of Agenda
 - A. Main Motion: Approval of agenda for Senate meeting on Tuesday, May 18, 2010.
 - B. First: Robert Robertson
 - C. Second: David Silva
 - D. Amendments: Motion to move IX.B to VII.C (2010-2011 Senate Committee Assignments).
 - 1. First: Kevin Eoff
 - 2. Second: Victor Hernandez
 - 3. Discussion: None
 - 4. Approval: Unanimous
 - E. Approval: Unanimous

V. Hearing of Citizens

The Senate floor is open to the public for commentary and announcements. Individuals who wish to speak to the Senate body may make a request during Adoption of Agenda. Each speaker has a time limit of five minutes. The audience shall respectfully withhold comments, questions, and discussion when a speaker has the floor.

- A. Tara Perkins thanked the Senate Scholarship Committee for her scholarship award.
- VI. Announcements: None
- VII. Reports
 - A. Leadership
 - 1. Secretary: None
 - 2. Vice President: None
 - 3. President: Thanked Senate officers for their work this year.

B. Committee

1. Accreditation

2. Articulation and Transfer

3. Basic Skills Initiative

4. Budget

5. Catalog

6. Curriculum

7. Distance Education

8. Enrollment Management

9. Equivalency

10. Facilities

11. Faculty and Staff Diversity

12. Flex

13. Foundation

14. Matriculation

15. Program Review

16. Scholarship

17. Security Task Force

18. Staff Development

19. Student Learning Outcomes

20. Title III

- 1. SLO Committee: Brian Thiebaux reported that College Council will facilitate a workshop for Institute Day on Friday, August 13. The topic will be SLOs.
- 2. Scholarship Committee: Sioux Stoeckle announced the recipients of the Senate Scholarship.

VIII. New Business

A. Instructional Technology Committee

President announced the College Council approved the written challenge document today. Division chairs are required to participate on this committee. There was discussion about what other constituent groups will participate on the committee.

B. Committee Assignments for 2010-2011

Senators assigned themselves to committees for 2010-2011. There are committee issues that Senate will resolve in the fall semester. See Committee Assignments 2010-2011 on PVC Senate website.

- C. Calendar for Fall 2010
 - 1. Proposed dates coincide with PVC Board of Trustees meetings for Fall 2010. All meetings will be in CL 130 in the Reale Building.

Tuesday, August 24, 2010
Tuesday, September 28, 2010
Tuesday, October 26, 2010
Tuesday, November 16, 2010
Tuesday, December 14, 2010
Tuesday, March 22, 2011
Tuesday, April 26, 2011
Tuesday, May 24, 2011

- a. Main Motion: Approve the Senate meeting dates for 2010-2011.
- b. First: Robert Robertson
- c. Second: Carlos Medina
- d. Amendments: There was discussion about the meeting dates and times: All meetings are on Tuesdays at 3 p.m. in CL 130 unless announced otherwise; meeting dates were not coordinated with CTA, but please advise; meeting dates will go to Lupita for master calendar.
 - i. Main Motion: Move Senate meeting on Tuesday, May 24, 2011 to Tuesday, May 17, 2011.

ii. First: Robert Robertsoniii. Second: Paul Shibalovich

iv. Discussion: None

v. Approval: Unanimous

e. Approval: Unanimous

IX. Future Business

A. Action on Senate Bylaws Revision

- B. Action on Senate Resolution
 - 1. Resolution 2009-2010:7—Opposition to Using SLOs in Faculty Evaluation
- C. Third Reading and Action on Senate Resolution
 - 1. Resolution 2009-2010:5—Non-Attendance Drop Authority for Faculty
- D. First Reading of Senate Resolution
 - 1. Resolution 2009-2010:2—Academic Standards
 - 2. Resolution 2009-2010:3—Writing Across the Curriculum
- X. Adjournment: 3:37 p.m.

XI. Attendance

- A. Senators Present
 - 1. Joe Boire
 - 2. Jason Bram
 - 3. T.M. Brown
 - 4. Sharron Burgeson
 - 5. Richard Castillo
 - 6. Philip Clinton
 - 7. Derek Copple
 - 8. Kevin Eoff
 - 9. Louise Gallan
 - 10. Alejandro Garcia
 - 11. Barbara Gaubeca
 - 12. Mike Gaubeca
 - 13. Leticia Guilin
 - 14. Victor Hernandez
 - 15. Carina Huynh
 - 16. Sheri Jones
 - 17. Steve LaVigne
 - 18. Dennese Lilley-Edgerton
 - 19. Carlos Medina
 - 20. Mickey Miranda-Copple
 - 21. Greg Nall
 - 22. Scott Peterson
 - 23. Biju Raman
 - 24. Mike Rhoades
 - 25. Henry Rinaldi
 - 26. Robert Robertson
 - 27. Sandra Sher
 - 28. Paul Shibalovich
 - 29. David Silva
 - 30. Greg Snider
 - 31. Sioux Stoeckle
 - 32. Brian Thiebaux
 - 33. June Turner
 - 34. Bruce Wallace
- B. Senators Absent
 - 1. Reva Gilmore
 - 2. Lorenzo Lujano
 - 3. Peter Martinez

- 4. Solomon Osayande
- 5. Bill Ponder
- 6. Maria Rivera
- C. Senators Excused
 - 1. Cheryl Bruno-Mofu
 - 2. Hortensia Rivera
 - 3. Irma Dagnino

* * * * *

The Academic Senate Secretary submits these minutes of These minutes, pending approval, are accurate and subst	• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •	• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •
Richard Castillo, Academic Senate Secretary	Date	
The Palo Verde College Academic Senate approved thes	se minutes	
□ as presented		
\Box with amendments to the following items:		
on Tuesday, September 28, 2010.		
Dennese Lilley-Edgerton, Academic Senate President	Date	
Sheri Jones, Academic Senate Vice-President	Date	
Submitted to PVC Faull Library Archives on		, 2010.