

Biju Raman- President

Peter A. Martinez-Secretary

MINUTES Tuesday, August 13, 2013

25 in Attendance: joseph Boire, Carlos Medina, Henry Rinaldi, Derek Copple, Dennese Lilley Edgerton, Kevin Eoff, Karen Redwine, Peter Martinez, Mike Gaubeca, Mike Rhoades, Victor Hernandez, John Tribelhorn, Biju Raman, Sioux Stoeckle, Machi Rivera, Sandra Sher, Richard Castillo, David Silva, Solomon Osayande, Robert Robertson, Paul Shibalovich, Brian Thiebaux, TM Brown, June Turner, Maria Gamez

- I. Call to Order: The President called the meeting to order at 3:01pm
- II. Pledge of Allegiance: The President recited the Pledge of Allegiance.
- III. Public Comment: Barbara Gaubeca, special announcement requesting assistance to complete her dissertation.
- IV. Approval of minutes: May 16, 2013

First:David SilvaSecond:Victor HernandezCall for the Question:Approved Unanimous

Motion to approve the agenda:

First: Dennese EdgertonSecond: Victor HernandezCall for the question: Approved unanimously

Officers Report:

Biju reported on his recent trip to Sacramento and provided the group with information on the outcomes of his experience and a brief snapshot on the outlook for community colleges. He also added highlights and discussion points with the Chancellor's office staff. Also, Biju highlighted on the issue of accreditation elements that need to be focused point for our campus.

Last, his final reporting discussion was on not shying away from using "social tools" to capture student involvement and keeping students active in the classroom setting.

Dr. Don Wallace Superintendent/President was equally welcomed by faculty. Dr. Wallace took a few minutes to talk to faculty on the vision and moving on to the next level, that being on enrollment growth. He also spoke on creating opportunities for our communities and embracing and strengthening working relationships with our communities. Last, Superintendent /President spoke on the accreditation report and our preparation for our next site visit.

Committee Assignments:

Please see the Committee List for complete accuracy and latest list available.

Moved to approve the committee list:

First: Robert Robertson Second: Dennese Edgerton <u>Approved unanimous</u>

Motion to Adjourn 4: 25pm