

2009-2010

President: Dennese Lilley-Edgerton

Vice-President: Mickey Copple

Secretary: Richard Castillo

# **MINUTES**

Tuesday, May 19, 2009, 3:00 p.m., CL 101 Auditorium

## I. OPENING OF MEETING

- A. Call to Order
  - a. Dennese Lilley-Edgerton called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.
- B. Pledge of Allegiance
  - a. Richard Castillo recited the Pledge of Allegiance.
- C. Approval of Minutes
  - a. First Motion: Kevin Eoff
  - b. Second Motion: Derek Copple
  - c. Discussion: None
  - d. Amendments: None
  - e. Vote: Passed unanimously. No abstentions.
- D. Approval of Agenda
  - a. First Motion: Derek Copple
  - b. Second Motion: Brian Thiebaux
  - c. Discussion: Brian Thiebaux reminded Senate that Enterprise Resource Planning Committee no longer exists and strike from Committee list. Correction noted.
  - d. Amendments: None
  - e. Vote: Passed unanimously. No abstentions.

### II. HEARING OF CITIZENS

- A. DataTel Review—Sarah Frid: (1) how to login, (2) how to check class roster, and (3) how to grade for mid-term grades.
  - a. New usernames and passwords for Faculty in August.
  - b. Starting August 10, Faculty will be able to check real-time enrollment status.
- B. Finals Week—Kevin Eoff: Some Faculty members are not adhering to the Finals Week schedule as established by the Office of Instruction. Students are having conflicts between their courses' final exams, or are having early final exams in the week prior to Finals Week.

## III. LEADERSHIP REPORTS

- A. President's Report: Dennese Lilley-Edgerton reported the following to the Senate:
  - a. Thanks to everyone for support and encouragement for new Senate leadership.
  - b. Richard Castillo will work with Rich Soto during the summer to update the Senate Web site.
  - c. Thanks to June Turner and Nancy King for clerical work and support with Senate archives.
  - d. Attended the ASB meeting today and discussed ASB's role in Senate meetings.
  - e. Introduced ASB Student Trustee Tara Perkins as ASB's representative to Senate.
  - f. Will meet with Administration on June 1 to discuss matters that concern the Senate.
  - g. PVC Board of Trustees passed Program Review for Nursing, Criminal Justice, and Fire Science.

## IV. COMMITTEE REPORTS

- A. Accreditation & Institutional Planning Steering Committee: None
- B. Articulation & Transfer: None
- C. Basic Skills Initiative Ad-Hoc Committee: None
- D. Budget Committee—Brian Thiebaux
  - a. Next meeting is on May 26, and tentative meeting set on June 9.
  - b. Student Services budget is set. Faculty and Department budgets are next.
- E. Catalog Committee: None
- F. Curriculum Committee: None
- G. Distance Education Committee: None
- H. Enrollment Management Ad-Hoc Committee: None

#### I. Enterprise Resource Planning Committee

- J. Equivalency Subcommittee: None
- K. Facilities Committee: None
- L. Faculty and Staff Diversity Committee: None
- M. Flex Committee: None
- N. Foundation Faculty Representative—Dennese Lilley-Edgerton:
  - a. Foundation BBQ and Silent Auction were a success.
- O. Matriculation Committee: None
- P. Outreach Task Force: None
- O. Program Review Committee: None
- R. Scholarship Committee—Sioux Stoeckle, Chair
  - a. Officially announced Senate Scholarship recipients at Awards Ceremony on Thursday, May 14: Garrett Brunet (\$166), Tara Perkins (\$166), Adrian Whitson (\$166), Marcus Rodriguez (\$166), Laura Garcia (\$166), Razsa Cruz (\$266), Richard "Paco" Dungca (\$466), and Justin White (\$466).
- S. Security Task Force: None
- T. Staff Development Committee: None
- U. Student Learning Outcomes Committee: None
- V. Technology Committee: None
- W. Title V ACE Task Force: None

## V. OLD BUSINESS

- A. Women's Conference/Multi-Cultural Diversity Festival—Sheri Jones
  - a. Proposed new conference idea to College Council, which approved conference and renamed it as Dare to Be Aware Conference.
    - i. Set for March 2010.
    - ii. Sheri Jones and Sioux Stoeckle have been appointed as co-chairs for the committee to develop and promote the new conference.
    - iii. New committee members are welcome in the fall.

### VI. NEW BUSINESS

- A. Establish Academic Senate goals for 2009-2010: Faculty brainstorm goals for Senate to accomplish in 2009-2010. Turn in ideas to either Dennese Lilley-Edgerton or Richard Castillo.
- B. Summer assignment for Faculty: Constitution and By-Laws: Read the Senate Constitution and By-Laws and suggest needed amendments in Fall 2009.
- C. Letter to new Palo Verde College Associated Student Body Officers

#### VII. ANNOUCEMENTS

- A. Meeting dates for Fall 2009: Sioux Stoeckle asked if Senate will continue to meet at 3:00-4:30 p.m. Dennese Edgerton said Senate meetings should last one hour, but Senate will still reserve meetings for 3:00-4:30 p.m. on the same days as College Board meetings.
- B. Summer grades: Turn in grades for Summer 2009 on July 22 so student information can transfer to DataTel without delays.

### VIII. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

- A. Academic Senate going "green."
- B. Time limits for Senate meetings
- C. New committee assignments
- D. Other
  - a. Sioux Stoeckle: Suggests Committee assignments become priority in first Senate meeting in August.
  - b. June Turner: Suggests Committee assignments start in Spring 2010 for 2010-2011.

# IX. ADJOURNMENT

- A. First Motion: Sioux Stoeckle
- B. Second Motion: Brian Thiebaux
- C. Meeting closed at 3:35 p.m.

## X. CALENDAR

A. Meetings for Fall 2009: Tuesday, August 25, 3 p.m.; Tuesday, September 22, 3 p.m.; Tuesday, October 27, 3 p.m.; Tuesday, November 17, 3 p.m.

XI.	ATTENDANCE				
Sen	ators Present:				
1.	Jason Bram	8.	Barbara Gaubeca	15.	Biju Raman
2.	Teh-Min Brown	9.	Sheri Jones	16.	Michael Rhoades
3.	Richard Castillo	10.	Dennese Lilley-Edgerton	17.	Sandra Sher
4.	Jed Clark	11.	Carlos Medina	18.	Sioux Stoeckle
	Derek Copple	12.	Mickey Miranda-Copple	19.	Brian Thiebaux
	Irma Dagnino		Greg Nall	20.	June Turner
7.	Kevin Eoff		Scott Peterson		Bruce Wallace
Sen	ators Absent:				
	Joe Boire	9.	Leticia Guilin	17.	Henry Rinaldi
	Cheryl Bruno-Mofu	10.	Victor Hernandez		Hortensia Rivera
3.	Sharon Burgeson		Callista La Vigne		Maria Rivera
	Philip Clinton		Steve La Vigne		Robert Robertson
	Louise Gallan		Peter Martinez		Paul Shibalovich
	Alejandro Garcia		Rosina Ortiz		David Silva
	Michael Gaubeca		Solomon Osayande		EarlTurner
	Reva Gilmore		Bill Ponder	23.	Daili dinei
٠.	neva dimiore	10.	Bill I Glidei		
Guests: Sarah Frid, PVC Outreach and Events Coordinator The Academic Senate Secretary, submits these minutes on Tuesday, August 25, for approval by Senate vote. These					
min	utes, pending approval, are accurate and	sub	stantiated by print and audio recording	gs.	
Ricl	hard Castillo, Academic Senate Secretary		Date		
The	Palo Verde College Academic Senate app	rov	ed these minutes		
☐ with amendments to the following items:					
	☐ as recorded and submitted				
on '	Гuesday, August 25, 2009.				
Der	nnese Lilley-Edgerton, Academic Senate P	resi	dent Date		
	1 M 1 0 1 1 1 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2				
Mic	key Miranda-Copple, Academic Senate Vi	ce-P	resident Date		

Submitted to Palo Verde College Library Archives on \_\_\_\_\_\_\_, 2009.