

Dennese Lilley-Edgerton, President

Mickey Miranda-Copple, Vice President

Richard Castillo, Secretary

# **MINUTES**

Tuesday, April 27, 2010 3:00 p.m., CL 101 Auditorium

- I. Call to Order: 3:07 p.m.
- II. Pledge of Allegiance: Carlos Medina
- III. Approval of Minutes

Main Motion: Approve the minutes of March 23.

- 1. First Motion: Robert Robertson
- 2. Second Motion: Greg Snider
- 3. Discussion/Amendments: None
- 4. Approval: Unanimous
- IV. Adoption of Agenda

Main Motion: Approve the agenda for April 27.

- 1. First Motion: David Silva
- 2. Second Motion: Robert Robertson
- 3. Discussion/Amendments: None
- 4. Approval: Unanimous
- V. Hearing of Citizens

The Senate floor is open to the public for commentary and announcements. Individuals who wish to speak to the Senate body may make a request during Adoption of Agenda. Each speaker has a time limit of five minutes. The audience shall respectfully withhold comments, questions, and discussion when a speaker has the floor.

- A. Tara Perkins, ASB Student Trustee thanked faculty for support and participation in the ASB Talent Competition, which is on Friday, April 30 at 6 p.m. in CL 101 Auditorium.
- VI. Announcements
  - A. PVC Foundation BBQ is on Friday, April 30 at 6 p.m. Tickets are on sale.
- VII. Leadership Reports
  - A. Secretary
    - 1. Link to ASCCC's adopted resolutions for Spring 2010 is now up-to-date on PVC Senate web site.
  - B. Vice President: No report.
  - C. President
    - 1. Recommends faculty read ASCCC resolutions for Spring 2010.
    - 2. College Council strongly recommends reinstating the Technology Committee.
    - 3. IT update: Will present spreadsheet from Jon Martin on status of issues at next meeting.
    - 4. Sent recommendation to Herman Miller and Adam Houston to meet and resolve issues about classroom teacher computers connected to StarBoards.
- VIII. Committee Reports
  - A. Accreditation
  - B. Articulation and Transfer
  - C. Basic Skills Initiative
  - D. Budget
  - E. Catalog
  - F. Curriculum
  - G. Distance Education
  - H. Enrollment Management
  - I. Equivalency
  - J. Facilities

- K. Faculty and Staff Diversity
- L. Flex
- M. Foundation
- N. Matriculation
- O. Program Review
- P. Scholarship
- Q. Security Task Force
- R. Staff Development
- S. Student Learning Outcomes
- T. Title III

- 1. June Turner, Flex: There will be upcoming Webinars for Flex ideas. The committee is planning for October's Flex Day; any ideas and presentations are welcome. Institute Day is on Friday, August 13.
- 2. Brian Thiebaux, Budget: Program Reviews are done. The committee will review all division budget proposals for 2010-2011. Meeting is Thursday, April 29 at 10 a.m.
- 3. Brian Thiebaux, SLO: All faculty are welcome to attend SLO meetings, which begin 2 p.m. on Tuesdays before every Senate meeting. Jason Bram presented an update on SLOs in his biology courses.
- 4. Louise Gallan, BSI: The committee is organizing schedules for Learning Communities for Fall 2010. Reminded faculty to review and revise prerequisites for reading and writing for courses by November deadline from Office of Instruction.
- 5. Dennese Lilley-Edgerton, Equivalency: Approved instructor for automotive technology and welding.

#### IX. General Orders

A. Senate Constitution Revision

Main Motion: Approval of revised Senate Constitution

- 1. First Motion: Louise Gallan
- 2. Second Motion: Sioux Stoeckle
- 3. Discussion/Amendments: None. Closed—Motion by Louise Gallan; second by Phil Clinton.
- 4. Approval (2/3 vote): Ayes: 28; Nays: 2. Motion carries.

### Senate Constitution Revision has been adopted and will be in effect April 27, 2010.

B. Senate Bylaws Revision

Main Motion: Approval of revised Senate Bylaws.

- 1. First Motion: Louise Gallan
- 2. Second Motion: Robert Robertson
- 3. Discussion/Amendments
  - a. Motion to Amend: Change terms for all officers to two years.
    - i. First Motion: Brian Thiebaux
    - ii. Second Motion: Paul Shibalovich
    - iii. Discussion: There was support for the amendment to provide Senate officers enough time to learn their office. Closed—Motion by Robert Robertson; second by David Silva.
    - iv. Approval of Amendment: Ayes: 22; Nays: 5. Motion for Amendment carries.
  - b. Motion to Table:
    - i. First Motion: Louise Gallan
    - ii. Second Motion: Sioux Stoeckle
    - iii. Discussion/Amendments: Brian Thiebaux moved, and David Silva gave a second, to table the revision until the beginning of next fall. The amendment passed by majority vote.
    - iv. Approval: Unanimous

# Senate Bylaws Revision has been tabled until the first meeting in Fall 2010.

- C. Nominations for Senate Officers 2010-2011
  - 1. The President opened nominations.
  - 2. Nominations for Senate President: Dennese Lilley-Edgerton
  - 3. Nominations for Senate Vice President: Sherri Jones
  - 4. David Silva moved, and Brian Thiebaux gave a second, to close the nominations. The motion passed unanimously.
  - 5. Robert Robertson moved, and Bill Ponder gave a second, to forego an election and install the new officers through acclamation. The motion passed unanimously.

Dennese Lilley-Edgerton will be President of PVC Academic Senate for 2010-2011.

Sherri Jones will be Vice President of PVC Academic Senate for 2010-2011.

# In the interest of time, the President asked for a motion to table the remaining agenda items until the next meeting on Tuesday, May 18. First Motion: David Silva; Second Motion: Brian Thiebaux; Discussion/Amendments: None; Approval: Unanimous.

- X. Unfinished Business
  - A. Action on Senate Resolution
    - 1. Resolution 2009-2010:7—Opposition to Using SLOs in Faculty Evaluation
- XI. Previous Business
  - A. Third Reading of Senate Resolution and Action
    - 1. Resolution 2009-2010:5—Non-Attendance Drop Authority for Faculty
- XII. New Business
  - A. Committee Assignments for 2010-2011

Reminder to consider committee assignments for 2010-2011. Assignments will be on May 18.

- XIII. Future Agenda and Discussion
  - A. First Reading of Senate Resolution
    - 1. Resolution 2009-2010:2—Academic Standards

	2. Resolution 2009-2010:3—Wr	iting Across the Cui	rıculum		
	djournment: 3:55 p.m. alendar: May 18, 2010, 3:00 p.m., CL	. 101 Auditorium			
XV. C	tendance Senators Present 1. Joe Boire 2. Jason Bram 3. T.M. Brown 4. Richard Castillo 5. Philip Clinton 6. Kevin Eoff 7. Louise Gallan 8. Alejandro Garcia 9. Barbara Gaubeca 10. Mike Gaubeca 11. Leticia Guilin 12. Carina Huynh 13. Sherri Jones 14. Steve LaVigne 15. Dennese Lilley-Edgerton 16. Carlos Medina	. 101 Auditorium		18. 19. 20. 21. 22. 23. 24. 25. 26. 27. 28. 29. 30.	Mike Rhoades Henry Rinaldi Robert Robertson Sandra Sher Paul Shibalovich David Silva Greg Snider
	<ol> <li>Reva Gilmore</li> <li>Mickey Miranda-Copple</li> </ol>				
		* *	* *	*	
pending	demic Senate Secretary submits these approval, are accurate and substantial Castillo, Academic Senate Secretary			10 for  Date	approval by Senate vote. These minutes,
	o Verde College Academic Senate app	proved these minute	e		
as pro		noved these inimate	3		
□ with	nmendments to the following items:				
on Tues	day, May 18, 2010.				
Dennese Lilley-Edgerton, Academic Senate President					Date
Mickey Miranda-Copple, Academic Senate Vice-President					Date
Submitted to PVC Faull Library Archives on					, 2010.